RBS Reward Credit Card — How to Apply and Is it Right for You?

The RBS Reward Credit Card from Royal Bank of Scotland is a straightforward, everyday rewards credit card issued on the Mastercard network. It focuses on practical value for routine spending rather than premium travel benefits, offering a simple earnings structure with higher rewards for supermarket purchases and enhanced, personalised offers through RBS’s MyRewards partners. The card is supported by RBS digital services including the Royal Bank app and mobile card controls.
This card carries an annual fee of £24; that fee may be refunded if you hold a qualifying RBS Reward current account. Like most rewards cards, the RBS Reward Card is intended mainly for customers who pay their balances in full to benefit from the interest-free period and to avoid high variable APRs on revolving balances.
Benefits
The principal benefits are everyday rewards and practical digital features. Key benefits include:
- 1% back in Rewards at supermarkets on qualifying supermarket spending.
- 0.25% back on other spending outside supermarket category.
- MyRewards partner offers — personalised offers that typically start at 1% and may be as high as 15% for selected retailers.
- Annual fee refund if you hold a qualifying RBS Reward current account (otherwise the annual fee is £24).
- Digital controls and wallets — lock and unlock the card in the app and support for Apple Pay and Google Pay.
- Instalment Plans for eligible purchases.
Prerequisites
Before applying, be aware of the card’s published eligibility and account requirements. The RBS Reward Credit Card requires applicants to be at least 18 years old and to be UK residents. The issuer publishes a typical income expectation of £10,000 per year. Applicants must not have been bankrupt in the last six years; other customer-specific pricing and suitability assessments apply.
Who is this card for?
This card is designed for people who make regular supermarket purchases and prefer a clear, uncomplicated rewards structure rather than complex travel or premium perks. It is appropriate for cardholders who usually pay their balance in full each month to take advantage of the interest-free period and avoid paying the relatively high variable purchase APR on carried balances.
It is also a reasonable option for existing RBS customers who hold or are willing to open a qualifying Reward current account, since that relationship can neutralise the £24 annual fee. Cardholders who value mobile app controls and instalment plans for larger purchases may find the card convenient. Conversely, those who prioritise travel insurance, airport lounge access or low-interest financing for revolving balances should consider other products.
What rewards and programs does the card offer?
The RBS Reward Credit Card uses a simple rewards scheme denominated in the card’s “Rewards points” currency that can be redeemed for statement credits and gift cards. The published earning rates are:
- Supermarkets: 1% back in Rewards (note: supermarket petrol stations are treated as other spending and earn 0.25%).
- MyRewards retailers: Personalised offers that typically begin at 1% and can be up to 15% for selected partners (these are personalised and capped as offered).
- Other spending: 0.25% back across general categories.
Rewards can be redeemed as statement credit or gift cards. No introductory signup bonus is published for this card on the issuer’s product page.
Initial credit limit
The product pages disclose a published minimum credit limit of £250 for the RBS Reward Credit Card. A maximum credit limit is not stated on the publicly available summary material.
If a specific initial or maximum credit limit is not published, banks typically set the approved limit at application based on a combination of factors that include the applicant’s income, credit history and existing indebtedness, product policy and an internal credit-scoring assessment. The issuer may also apply customer-specific pricing and limits and will state the approved limit after application and underwriting.
Step by step to apply for the card
- Check eligibility: confirm you are at least 18, a UK resident and that your income meets the stated expectation.
- Prepare documents: have your National Insurance number, proof of address and income information available. If you are unsure what documents are required, RBS provides contact channels to confirm requirements.
- Start the application: follow the official application pathway. Use the product apply URL or the bank’s digital banking portal to begin.
- Complete the online form: enter personal, employment and financial details; consent to a credit check; and submit. The issuer uses standard credit-reference checks with Equifax, TransUnion and Experian as part of its decision process.
- Await decision: RBS will assess your application and communicate whether you are approved and the credit limit offered. If approved, you will receive card delivery and activation information.
- Activate and set up: once you receive the physical card, follow the issuer’s activation instructions and add the card to mobile wallets if desired.
Mobile apps
Mobile apps for account management and card controls:
Card’s pros and cons
Below are considered positives and negatives based on the product disclosures.
Pros
- Clear, simple rewards: 1% at supermarkets and 0.25% elsewhere makes it easy to understand earnings.
- Enhanced personalised MyRewards offers can materially increase value at specific retailers (up to 15% as published).
- Annual fee can be refunded by holding a qualifying Reward current account, which reduces ongoing cost for existing RBS customers.
- Mobile app features (card lock/unlock) and support for Apple Pay and Google Pay increase convenience and security.
- Instalment Plans for eligible purchases provide flexible repayment options for mid-value transactions (£50–£3,000; repay 3–24 months).
Cons
- Relatively high variable purchase APR (25.9%–29.9% with a Representative APR of 31.0%) makes revolving balances expensive.
- Foreign transaction fee of 2.75% may make the card costly for overseas spending.
- Some fees and terms are not published in the summary material available online (balance transfer fee percent, penalty APR, returned payment fee and some ancillary fees are not disclosed as of 2025-10-02).
- Rewards are modest compared with premium travel or cashback cards; the card is best for routine supermarket spenders who pay in full.
Fees and tariffs
Key charges and published costs for the RBS Reward Credit Card include:
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | £24. Refunded if you hold a qualifying RBS Reward current account; otherwise the annual fee applies and is charged when you make your first transaction. |
| Purchase APR | The purchase APR range disclosed is 25.9%–29.9%. Representative 31.0% APR (variable) based on an assumed credit limit of £1,200. |
| Cash advance fee | 3% of the amount (money advances / cash withdrawals). |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2.75% on foreign currency transactions. |
| Interest-free period | Up to 56 days on purchases where you pay the balance in full and on time and have paid the previous month’s balance in full and on time. |
| Instalment Plans | Available for eligible purchases between £50 and £3,000, repayable over 3–24 months. |
Several fee items are not disclosed on the public summary box or product pages available to the researcher: the balance transfer fee percent and any penalty APR are not shown in the summary material as of 2025-10-02. Returned payment fees and additional cardholder fees are also not disclosed in the available public pages. Where a fee or rate is missing from the issuer disclosures, this article notes the omission explicitly.
Customer service
Official customer support channels published by the issuer include:
- Telephone: 0345 724 24 24 (general enquiries).
- Contact hours: Mon–Sat 08:00–18:00; Sun closed.
- Chat / digital support: the issuer provides an on-site digital assistant (“Cora”) and a support centre; the published chat URL is: Official website.
- Official product pages and terms:
- Product page: Official website
- Summary box / terms overview: Official website
- Fees and charges schedule: Official website
Representative APR disclaimer
Representative 31.0% APR (variable) based on an assumed credit limit of £1,200.
Important notes and final considerations
Terms and rates can change; the information in this article is grounded in the issuer’s public product disclosures as of 2025-10-02 and is for educational purposes only. It is not tailored financial advice. Several items relevant to a complete comparison (for example, a balance transfer fee percentage, penalty APR, returned payment fee and any card-specific insurance benefits) were not disclosed in the available summary material. Where the issuer has not published a value, this article states that the information was not disclosed as of 2025-10-02.
Responsible use reminder: paying balances in full each month preserves the interest-free period and maximises the value of rewards. Carrying a balance will incur high interest at the published variable APRs and can outweigh rewards value.



