Halifax Cashback Credit Card: earn cashback on everyday purchases with no annual fee

The Halifax Cashback Credit Card is a straightforward consumer credit card offered by Halifax and issued by Bank of Scotland plc under the Halifax brand. The card provides a simple, automatic cashback mechanic rather than a complex tiered rewards structure. Halifax presents the product as an everyday cashback option intended for routine spending, and the card supports contactless payments and mobile wallets.
This article explains the card’s main features, who it may suit, the application process and costs, and where to get more information. All specific product details in this article are taken from the issuer’s published materials. Where a detail is not publicly available, the text explicitly states that it was not disclosed by the issuer as of 2025-09-16.
Benefits
The Halifax Cashback Credit Card emphasises simplicity and low friction: a single flat cashback rate, no monthly account fee listed by the issuer, and integrated online account management. Core benefits disclosed by Halifax include:
- Flat cashback rate: 0.25% cashback on all purchases.
- No monthly account fee: the product is presented as having no monthly account fee.
- Annual cashback credit: accumulated cashback is applied to the account each January.
- Mobile and contactless support: the card supports contactless payments and digital wallets such as Apple Pay and Google Pay.
- Online management and fraud protection: manage your account in the Halifax mobile app and online; issuer materials reference fraud protection as a core feature.
Prerequisites
- Credit is available subject to status.
- You must be a UK resident aged 18 or over.
- You need a regular annual income.
- You should be free from recent or severe adverse credit history (such as CCJs, IVAs or bankruptcy), in line with Halifax’s standard eligibility criteria.
- You must not have been declined for a Halifax credit card in the last 30 days.
- Use the Halifax eligibility checker to see which cards you are likely to be accepted for, and an estimated credit limit, without affecting your credit score.
Who is this card for?
This card is aimed at UK residents who want an uncomplicated cashback reward on everyday spending and prefer a low-administration approach. The product is not positioned as a premium travel card or a high-rate category rewards card: instead it suits customers who value predictability and integration with Halifax’s online and mobile banking platforms.
Specifically, the card may suit:
- People who want an automatic, always-on cashback return without tracking categories or special offers.
- Customers who already use Halifax banking services and prefer to manage a credit product within the same bank ecosystem.
- Cardholders who appreciate an absence of monthly account fees and straightforward reward posting (cashback posted each January).
What rewards and programs does the card offer?
Halifax discloses a single, simple reward mechanic for this product. The card earns 0.25% cashback on all purchases; cashback is recorded in a cashback currency and applied to the account in January each year. The issuer lists statement credit as a redemption option.
There are no issuer-published signup bonuses, no tiered category multipliers and no transfer partners disclosed in the available product materials. If you depend on high category bonuses, frequent flyer points or large introductory bonuses, those features are not evident in Halifax’s published summary for this card as of 2025-09-16.
Initial credit limit
Halifax’s public product summary does not provide named initial, minimum or maximum credit limits for this card. The issuer’s published material lists the representative APR, fees and key eligibility points but does not state starting credit limits in the product description.
Because minimum and maximum credit limits are not published for this product by Halifax, the following explains how banks typically set initial credit limits:
- Underwriting assessment: banks usually set an initial limit after assessing an applicant’s credit history, income, outgoings and existing debt levels.
- Regulatory and risk appetite: the lender’s credit policy and risk appetite influence both minimum and maximum offers for different customer segments.
- Relationship factors: existing customers with broader relationships (for example current accounts, savings or mortgages) can sometimes receive different limits compared with new customers.
- Review and increase processes: an initial limit may be reviewed and increased over time subject to account behaviour and further credit checks.
If you need an exact figure for an expected initial credit limit, Halifax did not publish a standard starting limit for this product as of 2025-09-16; the information will usually be provided during or immediately after the online application.
Step by step to apply for the card
The following steps describe the typical online application process using Halifax’s published channels. All links and application endpoints used below are those provided by Halifax’s product materials.
- Prepare basic identity and residency information: you will need to confirm you are a UK resident and at least 18 years old, and provide standard personal details and contact information.
- Visit the Halifax product page or the online application endpoint to begin. Use the official product page for information and the application URL when ready to apply: Halifax Cashback credit card page.
- Start your online application. When you are ready to apply, use the official application link or the button below to open Halifax’s online application flow
- Complete the online form with your personal details, employment and income information (if requested), and consent to credit checks. Halifax states that credit is available subject to status.
- Review the representative rate and terms shown in the application. Halifax lists a representative APR of 23.9% (variable) linked to the Bank of England base rate; ensure you understand how this applies if you plan to carry a balance.
- Submit the application. You should receive a decision online or by email; if approved, Halifax will provide details on your credit limit and next steps for card delivery and activation.
TAP TO ACCESS THE CARD WEBSITE
Card’s pros and cons
This section summarises strengths and limitations based on the issuer’s published materials.
Pros
- 0.25% cashback on all purchases provides an always-on reward with automatic accrual.
- No monthly account fee is shown in Halifax’s product summary, reducing ongoing cost for cardholders.
- Representative APR is clearly disclosed (23.9% variable), so applicants can see the headline rate before applying.
- Simple reward mechanics and annual posting (cashback applied each January) reduce admin and tracking effort for cardholders.
- Support for contactless payments, Apple Pay and Google Pay and management in the Halifax app is convenient for digital-first users.
Cons
- The cashback rate is modest (0.25%), lower than many category-based or premium rewards cards; customers seeking large points or miles earnings may prefer other products.
- Representative APR of 23.9% (variable) is relatively high for customers who carry balances; those plans should compare the cost of credit carefully.
- Key fee details are not published in the summary materials for certain items: foreign (non-sterling) transaction fees, balance transfer APRs and cash advance APR/fees are not shown in the available product summary and draft terms.
- Initial, minimum and maximum credit limits are not disclosed publicly in the product summary, so applicants will not know a likely limit before the application outcome.
How to unlock the card?
- Start by using the Halifax online eligibility checker to see if you are likely to be accepted and to view an estimated credit limit without affecting your credit score.
- If you are eligible, complete the full online application for the Halifax Cashback Credit Card.
- Once approved, your card will be sent to you by post.
- Activate your card following the instructions provided (typically via Online Banking, the Halifax Mobile Banking app, or by phone).
- Make an initial Chip & PIN purchase before using the card for contactless payments.
Fees and tariffs
Halifax discloses some fees and indicates others are not provided in the product summary. The facts available in issuer materials are:
- Representative purchase APR: 23.9% APR (variable), linked to the Bank of England base rate.
- Monthly account fee: the product is listed as having no monthly account fee.
- Late payment fee: a late fee of £12 is disclosed in the issuer’s fee summary.
- Balance transfer fee: Not disclosed by issuer as of 2025-09-16.
- Cash advance APR and fee: Not disclosed by issuer as of 2025-09-16.
- Foreign/foreign transaction fee: Not disclosed by issuer as of 2025-09-16.
For any fee items marked as not disclosed, consult Halifax’s full terms and the application journey; the issuer may display or confirm those fees during the application or in the full terms & conditions PDF.
Customer service
Halifax provides multiple official contact channels in its published materials. The contact details and hours referenced in the product and issuer materials are:
- Card customer support (published for this product): 0345 9 44 4555 (Mon–Sun 08:00–18:00), as shown in the card’s reporting/support information.
- General Halifax contact number: +44 345 720 3040 (listed in issuer contact data).
- Terms and conditions (detailed product rules): Halifax Cashback credit card terms and conditions (PDF).
- Official product page and application and application page.
If you prefer to manage accounts through Halifax’s mobile app, the bank provides official app downloads for iOS and Android:
- Download Halifax Mobile Banking — iOS
- Download Halifax Mobile Banking — Android
Disclaimer: Credit card terms, rates and fees can change. This article summarises information disclosed by Halifax in its product materials and terms as of 2025-09-16. It is provided for educational purposes and does not constitute personalised financial advice. Consider your circumstances and read the full terms and conditions before applying. Practice responsible credit use, including paying balances in full where possible to avoid interest charges.



