Asda Money Credit Card — how to apply, benefits and costs

Asda Money Credit Card: no annual fee, Asda Pounds cashback (0.75% in Asda, 0.2% elsewhere), £30 welcome Cashpot. Representative 27.9% APR (variable).
Ana Maria 06/11/2025 24/04/2026
Asda Money Credit Card
Advertisements
Advertisements

The Asda Money Credit Card — Visa by Asda Money is a UK‑marketed, no annual fee credit card intended for shoppers who want simple, store‑centric rewards. The product is provided in partnership with a third party and is aimed at returning Asda Pounds on everyday spending, with higher earn rates on Asda purchases and a modest rate elsewhere. The card supports common digital wallets and can be managed through a mobile app.

This article explains the card’s core features, who it suits, the application process and the main costs to consider. All specific figures and factual statements are taken from the issuer’s published material or are identified as not disclosed where the issuer’s materials do not provide the detail.

Benefits

Key benefits of the Asda Money Credit Card centre on straightforward cashback for grocery spending, an introductory rewards Cashpot for new customers, and a simple, no‑annual‑fee structure. The principal advantages are:

Advertisements
Advertisements
  • Asda Pounds cashback: Earn 0.75% back on Asda purchases (in‑store and online).
  • Everywhere earn rate: Earn 0.2% on purchases made outside Asda.
  • Welcome bonus: New customers may receive a £20 Asda Rewards Cashpot.
  • No annual fee: Annual fee is £0.
  • Digital wallet support: Card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Prerequisites

Before you apply, check these eligibility and basic requirements which the issuer publishes:

  • Minimum age: 18 years.
  • Residency: UK resident is required.
  • Credit: Credit is subject to status — an assessment will be made on application.
  • Provider relationships: Asda Stores Limited acts as a credit broker and the credit is issued by Jaja Finance Ltd.

Who is this card for?

The Asda Money Credit Card is aimed primarily at budget‑conscious UK households that shop regularly at Asda and want a straightforward way to earn store‑linked rewards. It is best suited to people who value redeeming earned Asda Pounds through the Asda Rewards ecosystem (for example merchandise or gift cards) and prefer a simple no‑fee card rather than premium travel or insurance perks.

The product is less suitable for consumers who need long zero‑interest balance transfer periods, comprehensive travel or purchase insurance included with the card, or those who plan to carry large revolving balances — the representative APR and headline lending rates mean interest costs can be significant if balances are kept month to month.

Advertisements
Advertisements

What rewards and programs does the card offer?

The rewards structure is straightforward and focused on Asda shopping:

  • Asda (in‑store & online): Earn 0.75% (Asda Pounds) on qualifying purchases at Asda. The issuer’s materials note exclusions: no Asda Pounds will be awarded on cash, cash alternatives or Asda Travel Money purchases.
  • Elsewhere: Earn 0.2% (Asda Pounds) on purchases made outside Asda, subject to the same exclusions.
  • Welcome offer: New customers may receive £20 in their Asda Rewards Cashpot as a welcome benefit (terms and eligibility apply).
  • Redemption: Asda Pounds are redeemable for merchandise or gift cards and can be applied through Asda Rewards redemption methods.

If you need further details about earning caps, time limits on the welcome bonus or specific redemption mechanics, those items are addressed in the issuer’s full terms and the summary materials linked at the end of this article.

Initial credit limit

The issuer publishes minimum and maximum credit limits; however, the specific initial credit limit offered at application is not published in the summary materials.

  • Minimum credit limit published: £250.
  • Maximum credit limit published: £5,000.

How initial limits are typically set: when an issuer does not publish a fixed initial credit limit, lenders commonly decide the amount at offer by reviewing the applicant’s credit history, income and existing commitments. Factors such as affordability checks, credit score, previous repayment behaviour and internal credit policies determine the initial limit; applicants may be offered an increase after a period of satisfactory account management, subject to the lender’s process and review.

Step by step to apply for the card

Below is a practical step‑by‑step guide to requesting the Asda Money Credit Card. The issuer’s online application is the normal route for new customers.

  1. Prepare basic information: you will need to provide your name, date of birth (you must be aged 18+), UK address and details of income and employment for the credit assessment.
  2. Check eligibility: confirm you are a UK resident and understand that credit is subject to status.
  3. Start the online application: use the issuer’s application portal.
  4. Complete identity and affordability checks: follow the online form to submit identity and financial details; the lender will carry out the necessary checks, including credit bureau searches.
  5. Review the offer: if approved, you will receive the offered credit limit and full terms. These will include the purchase APR, any applicable fees and the representative APR information.
  6. Activate the card and set up online access: when you receive the card, follow activation instructions and register for online or mobile app account management.

TAP TO ACCESS THE CARD PAGE

Mobile app

You can manage the card using the mobile app. Download links (official store listings):

DOWNLOAD FOR ANDROID

DOWNLOAD FOR IOS

Card’s pros and cons

Below is a balanced view of the card’s strengths and limitations based on the published information.

Pros

  • No annual fee (published as £0).
  • Rewards that favour frequent Asda shoppers: 0.75% at Asda and 0.2% elsewhere.
  • Welcome benefit: £20 Asda Rewards Cashpot for new customers (subject to terms).
  • Mobile wallet support and an app for management (Apple Pay and Google Pay supported).

Cons

  • Representative APR and headline rates can be high: representative 29.9% APR (variable) and rates published up to 39.8% depending on circumstances.
  • Certain fee details are not publicly disclosed in the summary materials (for example the balance transfer fee percent and penalty APR percent are not published in the available summary box).
  • Summary materials do not show card‑specific purchase or travel insurance benefits; protections are not listed in the summary box.

Fees and tariffs

The published fees and cost features include the following items. All numeric amounts are taken from the issuer’s summary information where provided.

Fee / Tariff Detail
Annual Fee £0 (no annual fee)
Representative APR (Variable) 29.9% APR
Maximum Purchase APR Up to 39.8% (variable)
Maximum Cash Advance APR 44.8% (Equivalent Compound Rate)
Cash Advance Fee 3% handling fee (minimum £3) on cash transactions
Non-Sterling Purchase Fee (Foreign Transaction) 2.99% on the value of purchases made in foreign currencies
Late Payment Charge £12

 

Interest‑free days for purchases are published as 56 days. As always, paying balances in full each month avoids interest on purchases under the standard card terms and is the most cost‑effective approach.

Customer service

If you need help or want to discuss the product before or after applying, the issuer publishes the following contact details for cardholders:

Important compliance notes and gaps

  • Representative APR: The issuer requires the Representative 29.9% APR (variable) disclosure; the full summary also notes rates may vary up to the higher published headline figures.
  • Provider details: Asda Stores Limited acts as a credit broker; the credit is issued by Jaja Finance Ltd (as published by the issuer).
  • Credit reporting: The issuer reports to TransUnion.
  • Information gaps: The issuer’s published summary materials do not disclose the balance transfer fee percent, the penalty APR percent, returned payment fee details, additional cardholder fees or any card‑specific insurances. Where an item is not present in the summary materials it has been marked as “Not disclosed by issuer as of 2025-10-02.”

Disclaimer

This article summarises factual details taken from the issuer’s published materials. Credit card terms, rates and fees can change; where the issuer’s published materials do not disclose specific items this is stated in the article. This information is for educational purposes and does not constitute financial advice. If you are unsure whether this card suits your circumstances, seek independent advice and always consider the cost of borrowing. Responsible use of credit — for example paying balances in full where possible — reduces the risk of high interest charges.

About the author

As a trained linguist, I produce content for various niches and target audiences. I'm communicative, inquisitive, and attentive to the fine details of language and communication. I take interest in all things expressive—be it texts, scripts, music, films or podcasts. I believe good ideas gain strength when they are well written and effectively directed.